alpine remedy

by envieloveletter

i need cheering up! the last 12 hours have been trying so for this post i choose to indulge in looking forward to my upcoming christmas hols in the alps at the family chalet. my head is filling with images of warm wood panelling, log fires, snowy picture window views and fur! nothing says christmas like being in the mountains and i have only had the fortune to do this once before when i was very young. so come christmas eve i will be as excited as a child waiting for santa when i board the eurostar ski train from the sublime st. pancras for a 7 hr non stop ride all the way to moutiers, france, where i meet my papa and we make the last leg of the journey up to the jardin alpin in chic courchevel 1850. for solace and repair to my broken soul, am sure the warmth of family, excellent food, fine wine – as only my incredible gourmet of an uncle can do – and fresh mountain air will mend the rips i’ve sustained this year and as ever ‘i’ll be fine!’

so to start us off i share with you the view from our chalet. the stunning hotel les airelles completing the quaint ideal of christmas in the alps

now picture yourself snuggling in to one of the chalet interiors below, some quaint others quirky but above all gorgeous…

(images above selected from http://www.betaplus.com, http://www.lesairelles.fr, http://www.nickydobree.com)

to ensure i keep suitably warm and ever so chic on those slopes i add the following sheepskin ‘pasco’ (meant for me, I know…!) coat (www.allsaints.com) to my christmas lust list… please please santa baby…

 

